Inaugural Ceremony of Jessup Bangladesh National Round 2020 Held

Repoter : News Room
Published: 8 February, 2020 2:38 pm

The inauguration ceremony of the national round of “4th Bangladesh National Round’ of the 61stPhilip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition, 2020has been held today (on 6th February, 2020) at University of Asia Pacific – UAP.

Jessup Moot Court Competition is one of the most renowned and oldest competition of law students that gathers law students from more than 100 countries in the international round.

Following successive three years, the fourth addition of the national round is organized by Jessup Bangladesh in association with International Law Students Association Bangladesh (ILSA), Office of Overseas Prosecutorial Development Assistance and Training (OPDAT)- U.S. Department of Justice (DoJ), University of Asia Pacific – UAP,Old Bailey Chambers (OBC) and UQEEL.

24 teams from different universities are competing this year while more than 150 law students are participating in the event.

Md. Asaduzzaman, Head, Department of Law and Human Rights, University of Asia Pacific, delivered the welcoming address.CM Shafi Sami, Chairman, Board of Trustees, University of Asia Pacific formally inaugurated the session.

Lesley Benn, Executive Director, International Law Students Association, shared thatJessup has around 740 teams participating in the competition this year, and Bangladesh is the 5th largest national round around the world.Eric Opanga, Resident Legal Advisor, U.S. Department of Justice, OPDAT, U.S. Embassy Dhaka, expressed his delight in continuing their support to the Jessup Bangladesh in building brilliant future international lawyers.

Qayum Reza Chowdhury, Former Chairman, Board of Trustees, University of Asia Pacific, shared his views on the hardships that a lawyer faces and encouraged the teams to deliver their best performance. ASM Sayem Ali Pathan, Advocate, Supreme Court of Bangladesh & National Administrator of Jessup Bangladesh National Round, 2020, shared that this year, gave his vote of thanks.

Nuran Chowdhury, founding National Administration, Jessup Bangladesh& National Coordinator, ILSA Chapters-Bangladesh; Air Commodore (Retd.), Ishfaq Ilahi Choudhury, Treasurer, University of Asia Pacific were also present.